Chakras & Practice

Explore the chakras in relation to your hatha yoga practice

Instructor: Nirmala Chaitanya
Language: English
Course Duration: 8.5 hours


USD USD 212.50

Pay in USD


INR 17000

Pay in INR


Chakras are centres of subtle and vital energy in the astral body. They serve as a model for spiritual transformation, moving from the physical to the subtle, and represent levels of consciousness within us. They also provide a blueprint for turning our attention inwards and developing self-awareness.

In this course you will develop a deeper understanding of the chakras and kundalini, and also correct some misconceptions about them. We will explore the anatomy of the astral body in detail and integrate this symbolic awareness in the hatha yoga practices: asana (postures), pranayama (breathing exercises), mudra (energetic seal), bandha (lock), kriya (cleansing action), and meditation in relation to the chakras. To aid in concentration and to develop increased sensitivity, bija mantras will be taught and repeated.

The course includes 8.5 hours total of instruction, over 6 modules.

This is an intermediate course, which integrates practice and theory.
Join us for a fascinating exploration of the potential that lies deep within us.

Nirmala Chaitanya

Originally from Canada, Nirmala has been teaching yoga as part of the Sivananda organisation for more than 20 years. A senior teacher in the Sivananda Teachers’ Training Courses, she is passionate about the symbolism and more subtle aspects of the hatha yoga practices and creating unique programmes to share the traditional teachings of Yoga, Vedanta, and meditation. She teaches primarily in India (and Online!) but has also taught extensively in Canada, the US, and Sri Lanka.

Module 1:


Module 2:

Muladhara Chakra

Module 3:

Swadhisthana Chakra

Module 4:

Manipura and Anahata Chakras

Module 5:

Visshudha and Ajna Chakras

Module 6:

Sahasrara Chakra and Full Practice